Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

When matter is reduced to nanometer length scale amazing properties emerge that are very different from their bulk condensed phase. These properties, unique to the size, shape, and composition of the nanoparticles, have ushered a new era in materials science with unlimited possibilities for designing and synthesizing novel materials with tailored properties. The size of the nanoparticles can vary from a few to a few thousand atoms. Atomic clusters are the ultimate nanoparticles where every atom and every electron count. Nanoscience is an interdisciplinary field that bridges physics, chemistry, biology, and medicine.

Research in nanoscience in the VCU Department of Physics includes both experiment and theory and covers a broad range of nanostructures starting from zero dimensional clusters to one dimensional nano-wires and nano-tubes to two dimensional monolayers. Novel materials where clusters form the building blocks of new structures are also actively pursued. Nano-materials with unique magnetic, optical, and catalytic properties as well as design of drugs and drug delivery systems form the core research interest of the physics faculty.

Theoretical Nanoscience Faculty

peru_jena

Puru Jena

Distinguished Professor

Research Area(s): Theoretical condensed matter, Theoretical nanoscience

701 W. Grace St., 1513 
804.828.8991 
pjena@vcu.edu 
shiv_khanna

Shiv N. Khanna

Commonwealth Professor

Research Area(s): Theoretical condensed matter, Theoretical nanoscience

701 W. Grace St., 2407 
804.828.1820 
snkhanna@vcu.edu 

 

Experimental Nanoscience Faculty

Max Bertino

Massimo F. Bertino

Professor

 Research Area(s): Experimental nanoscience, Experimental Condensed Matter

701 W. Grace St., 1515
804.828.6343 
mfbertino@vcu.edu
Prof. Joung

Daeha Joung

Assistant Professor

 Research Area(s): Experimental biophysics, Experimental nanoscience

701 W. Grace St., 2103
804.828.3154
joungd2@vcu.edu 

Loren Picco

Assistant Professor

Research Area(s): Experimental biophysics, Experimental nanoscience

701 W. Grace St. 2415 
lpicco@vcu.edu 
Image of Prof. Jason Reed

Jason Reed

Associate Professor

Research Area(s): Experimental biophysics, Experimental nanoscience

701 W. Grace St., 2409 
804.828.2409 
jcreed@vcu.edu
Reiner_j

Joseph Reiner

Associate Professor

Research Area(s): Experimental biophysics, Experimental nanoscience

701 W. Grace St., 2417 
804.828.2409 
jereiner@vcu.edu
Ye_dexian

Dexian Ye

Associate Professor

Research Area(s): Experimental nanoscience

701 W. Grace St., 2413 
804.827.1718 
dye2@vcu.edu